UnRated Magazine



Korn - KoRn: Live On The Other Side | UnRated Magazine Review:
KoRn: Live On The Other Side [ Virgin Recordings America, Inc./EMI (Warner Bros) ] Purchase Music at Amazon.com


By Tim Hargesheimer

KoRn: Live On The Other Side

If you're looking to capture the essence of a current live Korn performance, then "See You Live On The Other Side" is a raw fan perspective that will provide exactly what you're looking for. This DVD is jammed full of Korn classics and was shot from the fall 2005 radio stint as opposed to the assumed "See You On The Other Side" 2006 Spring tour. As James "Munky" Shafer puts it, this is your first opportunity to see Korn as a "four piece" act. Tagged with a rated 'R' label, this 130 minute look into the Hammerstein Ballroom performance of the Bakersfield, California bunch gives fans a heavy dose of the classics with a sprinkling of the new sound with "Liar," "Twisted Transistor," Hypocrites" and "Coming Undone" included. Clad in his leather Adidas pants, Jonathan Davis delivers with the same high level of intensity fans receive at every live Korn performance. With this their fourth DVD (Deuce, Live, Live at CBGB), the city of New York has become a playground for recent Korn live performances. At a suggested retail price of $19.99, this DVD isn't loaded with extras but also isn't filled with mindless crap either. Targeted at the true Korn fan and concert enthusiast, "Live On The Other Side" gives you just what you want and nothing more.

In my opinion, this DVD is a value and a "must have" for any real Korn fan. The focus is an insight into the guys moving forward without Head and it demonstrates a new page being turned in the Korn music catalogue. Loaded with unique angles and perspectives, the video coverage takes you up, down and through Hammerstein with a focal point on the raucous and dedicated fans that make going to a Korn show such an intense experience. Even as the guys play on a no frills stage setup (that appears to be a transitional setup between the Greatest Hits album and See You On The Other Side), we are treated to some little "extras" such as a sweet jam session before "Somebody, Someone" and a very raw, stripped-down version of "Twisted Transistor."

The bonus features get a C- in my book. The 37 minute chapter titled "See You On The Other Side" gives clips and coverage of their infamous plane concert with MTV Europe winners and military personnel. For some mysterious reason a repeat live showing of "Got the Life is played in the middle of this video clip. Interesting, but not spectacular by any means. The chapter titled "See Who's On The Other Side" gives you a quick meet and greet with the Korn guys and the behind the scenes crew. Touring crew members stress their loyalty and give praise to band members. Once again, interesting, but no surprises.

Set List:

  1. Intro
  2. Here To Stay
  3. Twist
  4. Got the Life
  5. Liar
  6. A.D.I.D.A.S.
  7. Coming Undone
  8. Dirty
  9. Falling Away From Me
  10. Twisted Transistor
  11. Did My Time
  12. Shoots and Ladders
  13. One
  14. Freak On A Leash
  15. Another Brick In The Wall/Goodbye Cruel World
  16. Blind
  17. Somebody Someone
  18. Hypocrites
  19. Y'all Want A Single

Bonus Features:

  1. See You On The Other Side
  2. See Who's On The Other Side
  3. Coming Undone Video